Pharmist Mod Experiments

Moderator: Focus Team

pharmist
Mid 2011 Awards - Best Mod ; End 2010 Award - Best Mod (In Progress)

Pharmist Mod Experiments

Postby pharmist » 08 December 2010, 07:36

Hello,

A brief Introduction:

I have been playing Cities XL since the original beta for Cities XL 2009. During the Beta I found a need to modify the game to suit my needs so I searched for a way to unpack the game files. I found a site called XENTAX.COM where a member named ALUIGI had made a BMS script to unpack the game files. It was on the beta forum I met a member named NILO who introduced me to his first mod which unlocked then Cheat function allowing us to unlock all buildings, add money, save and reload games, and run debug options. Nilo met another member on the beta forum named MOAKU who had been working on the same things and also showed NILO many more Experiments he had made to unlock all of the game options. MOAKU had discovered many new things about the game which he shared with NILO and myself. When Cities XL was released back in 2009 all mods were restricted by the publisher Monte Cristo by not allowing modified LUA, CLASS, or any other file type or the game would crash. What we needed was a repacker to put the mod files into a game .patch file. This is when I found a German web site called CitiesXS.net and a member named OKEANOS who was posting Mods for CitiesXL 2009 in the form of a .patch file. I knew he had to have a repacker to do this so I sent him a message asking him about his repacker. After sharing a few messages he agreed to share his repacker with me and asked me to join a private modding forum on CitiesXS.net so we could share our experiments with other modders. Moaku also joined the private forum and showed us many more new discoveries he had made. We continued to share experiments until the publisher Monte Cristo went bankrupt and it appeared the game would be abandoned so slowly most lost their interest in the game. I purchased CitiesXL 2011